DSHW Home > Solid Waste Section > Permitting & Compliance
Solid Waste Section: Permitting and Compliance
Individuals and businesses may not dispose or incinerate solid waste except at facilities complying with Utah's solid and hazardous waste rules. Non-hazardous solid waste generally consists of municipal trash and garbage; construction and demolition waste; waste from commercial establishments; and industrial waste. Solid waste disposal sites must obtain permits from the Executive Secretary of the Utah Solid and Hazardous Waste Control Board and are subject to inspection by the Division, local health departments and other government agencies.
Landfills and some other solid waste facilities are subject to location restrictions, design and operating criteria, ground water monitoring and corrective action requirements, closure and post-closure care requirements and financial assurance requirements. Commercial facilities may need to obtain gubernatorial and legislative approval and pay solid waste fees set by the Legislature, in addition to the solid waste permit requirements. Permit requirements are explained in the Solid Waste Permitting and Management Rules (R315-301 thru R315-320, Utah Administrative Code), available from the Division in a paper copy at a cost of $10.00, or off this Web site.
Solid waste permit applications must be accompanied by a completed application form for the type of facility being sought. Along with the application form a checklist with the information required in a permit application is available from the Division or can be downloaded from the document section of this Web page. Applications should be submitted to Dennis Downs, Executive Secretary, Utah Solid and Hazardous Waste Control Board, and should be accompanied by the appropriate filing fee. Additional review fees of $90.00 per hour, for non-publicly owned facilities, will be assessed based upon the time needed to complete the application review. Additionally non-publicly owned facilities will be required to pay the cost of all required public notices published.
The Division reviews all permit applications and may request additional information. Upon completion of the application review, either a draft permit or a notice of intent to deny the permit is prepared. Draft permits and notices of intent to deny a permit are then subject to at least 30 days of public comment and, if requested, a public hearing. Upon completion of the public comment period and after all relevant issues raised in the comment period are addressed, the permit or denial is finalized.
For more information, please contact Ralph Bohn (801-536-0212).